Photo - The Ewashko Singers

Brahms: A German Requiem


Saturday, May 4th
7:30 PM

$40 (for under-18s and students, available at the door only)


* Buy tickets online at Eventbrite *


The Ewashko Singers
Laurence Ewashko, conductor
Lynlee Wolstencroft, soprano
James Coole-Stevenson, baritone
Suren Barry, piano
Carson Becke, piano

Brahms’s largest work, Ein Deutsches Requiem (A German Requiem), was written between 1865 and 1868.  His mother had died in 1865, and her death is often cited as one of the major inspirations behind the work.  Brahms said to a friend that he may also have called the work ‘a human Requiem’, as the work focuses on comforting those that live and mourn.  Its seven movements, ranging from moments of deep sorrow to triumphant exultation, are truly symphonic in scale.  Originally scored for full orchestra, chorus, and soloists, it will be performed here in a version for two pianos, chorus, and soloists, based on Brahms’s own version of the orchestral part for piano duet.


Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)
Ein Deutsches Requiem (A German Requiem), op. 45