Photo - Jethro Marks and Mauro Bertoli

Jethro Marks and Mauro Bertoli


Saturday, October 26th
7:30 PM

$20 (for under-18s and students, available at the door only)


* Buy tickets online at Eventbrite *


Jethro Marks, viola
Mauro Bertoli, piano

Jethro Marks, principal viola of the NAC Orchestra, and Mauro Bertoli, professor of piano at Ottawa University, present a program of emotionally charged and virtuosic music for the viola and piano. Not often viewed as a solo instrument by the majority of composers, the viola had a few compositional champions through the nineteenth century who left remarkable works that exploit it’s rich, dark timbre. Among them were Johannes Brahms, who wrote two sonatas for the viola and piano at the end of his life, and Henri Vieuxtemps, who was well known as a violinist, but turned to composing for the viola near the end of his life.


Nino Rota (1911-1979)
Intermezzo for Viola and Piano

Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)
Sonata for Viola and Piano in F minor, op.120 no. 1

Henri Vieuxtemps (1820-1881)
Elegie, for Viola and Piano, op.30

Henri Vieuxtemps
Sonata for Viola and Piano in B flat major, op.36